OPEN BOOK, it’s not just an event, it’s an experience.

Announcing the Open Book 2018-2019 Season Winter and Spring Events:

February 28, 2019

Leif Enger, in conversation with John Horn, at the historic Sierra Madre Playhouse

May 9, 2019

An Evening with Jacqueline Winspear

Mark Your Calendar for the Next Open Book Event:

Leif Enger, in conversation with John Horn (of KPCC’s “The Frame”), at the historic Sierra Madre Playhouse

Thursday, February 28, 2019 from 7:00PM – 9:00PM

Tickets on sale NOVEMBER 1st.  Special pricing for students and educators.

Join Leif Enger as he discusses the novel his fans have waited a decade for: Virgil Wander.  In the spirit of his award-winning, million-selling novel, Peace Like A River, Enger weaves an enchanting and timeless tale that follows the inhabitants of a small midwestern town as they seek to revive its flagging heart.

Start your evening at a pre-event, hosted happy hour.  Then take in a lively discussion with Leif Enger.  Afterwards, join the author for a book signing and dessert reception.

Leif Enger

Leif Enger is the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of three novels: Peace Like a River, So Brave, Young, and Handsome, and Virgil Wander. Enger spent nearly twenty years of his career working as a reporter and producer for Minnesota Public Radio before becoming a full-time fiction writer.  Enger was raised in Minnesota, where he currently lives with his wife, Robin.

Enjoy Enger’s Other Works

Jacqueline Winspear

Jacqueline Winspear is the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs mystery series.   Winspear was born and raised in County Kent, England and currently lives in Southern California.

Open Book thanks this event's sponsor:


Our Season 2 Inaugural Event was a hit:

Les Klinger Enthralled a Full House at the Magnificent Mountain View Mausoleum

Leslie S. Klinger is considered one of the world’s foremost authorities on Sherlock Holmes, Dracula, H. P. Lovecraft, Frankenstein and 19th-century genre fiction.  His work has received numerous awards and nominations, including the Edgar® for Best Critical-Biographical Book in 2005 for The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes:  The Complete Short Stories and the Anthony for Best Anthology in 2015 for In the Company of Sherlock Holmes (co-edited with Laurie R. King).

Open Book thanks this event's sponsor:


What is the Open Book Series?

Building on the successful Pasadena Festival of Woman Authors event which has been presented annually since 2009, the vision for the new series is to provide opportunities for the community to enjoy authors of all kinds – both established and emerging, national and local, men and women, writers of fiction and non-fiction – in settings that complement the author’s work or background and allow for engagement with the attendees.