Open Book Committee

  • Julie Daniels Co-Chair
  • Emily Vitan Co-Chair
  • Barbara Abercrombie
  • Jennifer Bigelow
  • Melanie Clark
  • Cristin Crum
  • Peggy Gregerson
  • Sarah Hunter
  • Caitlin Latta
  • Annie Bigelow McCarthy
  • Katie Poole
  • Betty Sargent
  • Shelley Thompson
  • Kathleen Waller
  • Elizabeth White
  • Rosa White

We work together to bring inspiring author events to Pasadena and to make enduring friendships.

If you are interested in volunteering send us a message.

History PFWA
The Beginning

The Pasadena Festival of Women Authors (PFWA) founders, Susan Long and Elsie Sadler, felt that book lovers in Pasadena would embrace the experience of a literary event and would make donations to support the community. In 2009, they launched the first PFWA at the Pasadena Senior Center where it was hosted for 7 years.

The Mission

To recognize the accomplishments of authors, to advance community dialog about the literary arts and to raise money for literary programs at community non-profits.

Non-profit status and growth

In 2016 PFWA Committee established the Pasadena Literary Alliance (PLA) and moved the popular PFWA event to the Pasadena Hilton Hotel to accommodate a larger audience. The PLA is a 501(c)(3) organization, Tax ID: 47-2569785. The Pasadena Literary Alliance Board members are:

  • Katie Poole, President
  • Peggy Adams
  • Melanie Clark
  • Cristin Crum
  • Cristina Finney
  • Caitlin Latta
  • Norah Morley
  • Carmie Rodriguez
  • Grace Russak
  • Shelley Thompson
  • Liz White
  • Leslie Zasa

New Events

In 2017 the PLA board formed the Open Book Committee to host year round author events starting in 2018.


In 2018 the following organizations received grants from the proceeds of the PFWA: